Access Keys:

Skip main menu

County Council Elections - Thursday 2 May 2013

Election Results - 3rd May 2013

View all the local election results for 3rd May 2013.

Cumbria County Council has 84 Elected Members, each representing a single electoral division of the County.  Following the election held on 2 May 2013, the Council is constituted as follows:- 35 Labour Members, 26 Conservative Members, 16 Liberal Democrat Members, 6 Independent Members and 1 non-aligned Member.

Elections of all Councillors are normally held on the first Thursday in May every 4 years.  (By-elections may be held to fill vacancies which occur between the scheduled elections.) 

This was the first election held on new electoral division boundaries created following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.  The number of divisions remains at 84 but, with effect from the 2 May 2013 elections, the existing divisions are abolished and replaced with new ones, many of which have changed names and/or altered boundaries. 

The most significant changes are in Barrow which loses one division and Carlisle which gains one.  The number of divisions in each of the Districts in the County will be as follows:- Allerdale - 16; Copeland - 12; Barrow  - 11; Eden - 9; Carlisle - 18; South Lakeland - 18

Detailed information about the background to the review and the Commission's recommendations can be found at

Follow the Electoral Division Maps link on the left of this page to view maps of the new electoral divisions.

The County Returning Officer is Diane Wood, Corporate Director - Resources, Cumbria County Council.  The organisational arrangements for the elections are made on the County Council's behalf by the six District Councils within Cumbria:

Allerdale Borough -

Barrow-in-Furness Borough -

Carlisle City -

Copeland Borough -

Eden District -

South Lakeland District  -

Nomination papers and guidance about standing for election can be obtained from election offices in the District Councils (see Key Contacts).  Nominations for the May elections must be received by the relevant Deputy Returning Officer by noon on Friday 5th April and a list of candidates will be published on Tuesday 9th April.  Other key election dates can be viewed by following the Timetable link.

Notice of Election can be viewed here

Diane Wood
County Returning Officer 

Page Author: Nick Evans
Phone: 01228 226367

Page Editor: Lorraine Graham
Phone: 01228 226366

Page Refresh Date: N/A